Another leaves the MDGOP Chair race

I’ve learned today that after exploring the possibility and discussing it with a number of others in and out of Maryland politics former Delegate and 2010 candidate Carmen Amedori is taking a pass on the MDGOP Chair race. Instead, she plans to “concentrate on getting gains in the Party down here right now as a member of the Worcester County Central Committee.”

“I have many things on the burners. It would be something that needs 100% of someone’s time,” she continued.

Like any similar race, the final few days have seen the field whittled down significantly; however, one oddity is that all three contenders currently living here on the Eastern Shore (Andrew Langer, Eric Wargotz, and Amedori) have withdrawn from consideration. It leaves a field of either three or four men and one woman in the race, with most coming from the center of the state. (Former Senator Alex Mooney hasn’t decided yet whether to run for Chair or 1st Vice-Chair; if he runs for Chair it would add a little geographical diversity.)

So the field narrows and the odds change again.

In other news, I was informed by former Wicomico County Executive candidate John Wayne Baker that he’s switched allegiance to the Republican Party. I’d like to personally welcome him and invite any others who believe in conservative principles to follow John.

As one example why, if you follow this site at all you know we’re having a healthy discussion about who should lead our party. Those other guys had their leadership dictated by Governor O’Malley – Susan Turnbull was installed at his behest. That doesn’t seem very democratic. On the other hand, we are being very republican as your elected party representatives will vote on the party leadership.

Just because those other guys control the levers of power and seem to be unaccountable is no reason to stay. As we saw last month, politics isn’t forever.


6 Responses to “Another leaves the MDGOP Chair race”

  1. RightCoastGirl on December 3rd, 2010 6:02 pm

    Holy Moly. They can’t give it away!

  2. Austin Nichols on December 3rd, 2010 6:03 pm

    Before you go pointing fingers at the dems for being undemocratic, remember that your chair was dictated by the GOP governor at the time… Same thing happens at the federal level.

  3. […] Swartz at Monoblogue is reporting that Carmen Amedori has withdrawn as well.  So Michael, when are you going to re-do […]

  4. Michael on December 3rd, 2010 10:33 pm

    But I presume it was placed to a vote at the 2002 convention. Perhaps there was only one contender but it was still a vote. (This was before my time on the Central Committee, or in Maryland for that matter.)

  5. […] Swartz at Monoblogue is reporting that Carmen Amedori has withdrawn as well.  So Michael, when are you going to re-do […]

  6. Patriotic on December 4th, 2010 4:22 pm

    Sam Hale is from Silver Spring, but spent five years on the shore earning his graduate and undergraduate degree at Salisbury. He is as close to eastern shore as we’re going to get!

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    The Maryland primary election is June 26.





    Larry Hogan (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Rushern Baker – Facebook Twitter

    Ralph JaffeFacebook

    Ben JealousFacebook Twitter

    Kevin KamenetzFacebook Twitter

    Rich MadalenoFacebook Twitter

    Alec RossFacebook Twitter

    Jim SheaFacebook Twitter

    Krish VignarajahFacebook Twitter

    Candidates for Libertarian and Green parties will be added after primary.





    Anjali Reed PhukanFacebook Twitter



    Peter Franchot (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Attorney General



    Craig WolfFacebook Twitter



    Brian Frosh (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Senate



    Tony Campbell – Facebook Twitter

    Nnabu EzeFacebook

    Gerald Smith



    Ben Cardin (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Chelsea Manning – Twitter

    Jerome SegalFacebook Twitter

    Rikki VaughnTwitter

    Debbie “Rica” Wilson

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party and the independent will be added after the primary.


    U.S. Congress -1st District



    Martin Elborn – Facebook Twitter

    Andy Harris (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Lamont Taylor – Facebook Twitter



    Michael Brown

    Jesse ColvinFacebook Twitter

    Allison Galbraith – Facebook Twitter

    Michael Pullen – Facebook Twitter

    Steve Worton – Facebook Twitter

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party will be added after the primary.


    State Senator – District 37



    Addie Eckardt (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    None yet. I’m sure there will be.


    State Senator – District 38



    Mary Beth CarozzaFacebook Twitter



    Jim Mathias (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37A



    None yet. One is needed.



    Sheree Sample-Hughes (incumbent)


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)



    Chris Adams (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Keith Graffius

    Johnny Mautz (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Dan O’Hare


    Delegate – District 38A



    Charles Otto (incumbent)



    Kirkland Hall, Sr.


    Delegate – District 38B



    Carl Anderton, Jr. (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    None yet but they’ll find one.


    Delegate – District 38C



    Wayne HartmanFacebook

    Joe Schanno – Facebook

    Jim Shaffer

    Ed TinusFacebook



    None yet but they’ll find one.


  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.