Local GOP selects four for District Four

November 8, 2011 · Posted in All politics is local, Delmarva items, Personal stuff, Politics 

Last night, the Wicomico County Republican Central Committee interviewed six candidates before selecting four local Republicans to advance to an upcoming Wicomico County Council vote to fill the seat now vacant due to the passing of Bob Caldwell. Selected were former County Council member Bill Carey, local businessman John Hall, Robert Huntington, an airline pilot, and political activist Cathy Keim. A seventh applicant withdrew from consideration just before the interview process began.

These half-dozen candidates were peppered with questions from the Central Committee, which was charged by the county charter to select four qualified citizens for County Council’s consideration. As a body, we agreed that all six candidates interviewed would have been fine additions to County Council, but only four could move on and all four who advanced received a majority of votes from the eight eligible members voting, with one receiving support from all eight present.

Truthfully, I was somewhat surprised at the outcome but had one vote flipped I would’ve had the result I expected – it was that close. I voted for three of the four winners, so I wasn’t dismayed at all. It’s my impression as well that the person selected will probably be a reliably conservative vote.

So it’s now up to County Council to decide the final winner, and they will vote on the matter in an upcoming meeting.


4 Responses to “Local GOP selects four for District Four”

  1. G. A. Harrison on November 8th, 2011 10:32 pm

    As the only non-applicant, non-committee member there last night I can attest that y’all did an excellent job. While Bob never made known a preference for his successor (at least to me), I do believe that he would have been pleased with the work you did and the four choices the WRCC sent forward to the council today.

    As you said, it’s now up to the council. Because of time constraints and because some council members are out of town, it doesn’t appear that they will make a selection until November 15th. While it isn’t in strict compliance with the charter, I think that they are making a good faith effort to fill the vacancy as soon as practicable.

    This has also brought to light another issue for the Charter Review Commission. I think that trying to fill such a vacancy in 30 days is tough. The WRCC did not waste any time and the council still only had two (2) days to interview and vote. I think they should propose an amendment that gives the central committee (D or R) 30 days and the council 45 (15 days after the central committee provides a list of four names).

  2. Michael on November 8th, 2011 10:42 pm

    Actually, it’s easy to do a good job when you have good people to work with. I would have been happy with any of the six, but as I noted three of the four I voted for made it. I know who my strongest preference would be, and I’ll let County Council know at an appropriate time.

  3. […] it was a week ago that we interviewed a half-dozen candidates, all seeking to be on our four-person list that we submitted for the County Council seat. While all six had their good qualities, to me one […]

  4. Bloggers need not apply? : monoblogue on February 8th, 2012 8:28 am

    […] situation has come up before. Back in November, the Republican Central Committee had a meeting to interview and select four applicants for the County Council seat which became available with Bob Caldwell’s passing. G.A. Harrison […]

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    The Maryland primary election is June 26.


    Note: as a way of shortening this lengthy widget, only races that are contested in the primary will be shown.



    Republican Larry Hogan is unopposed in his primary.



    Rushern Baker – Facebook Twitter

    Ralph JaffeFacebook

    Ben JealousFacebook Twitter

    Rich MadalenoFacebook Twitter

    Alec RossFacebook Twitter

    Jim SheaFacebook Twitter

    Krish VignarajahFacebook Twitter

    Candidates for Libertarian and Green parties will be added after primary.


    U.S. Senate


    Tony CampbellFacebook Twitter

    Chris ChaffeeFacebook Twitter

    Evan CronhardtFacebook Twitter

    Nnabu EzeFacebook

    John Graziani – Facebook

    Christina GrigorianFacebook Twitter

    Albert HowardFacebook Twitter

    Bill Krehnbrink – Twitter

    Gerald Smith – Facebook Twitter

    Blaine Taylor

    Brian Vaeth is on the ballot, but has suspended active campaigning for family reasons.



    Ben Cardin (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Erik JetmirFacebook Twitter

    Chelsea Manning – Twitter

    Marsha Morgan

    Jerome SegalFacebook Twitter

    Rikki VaughnTwitter

    Debbie “Rica” WilsonFacebook

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party and the independent will be added after the primary.


    U.S. Congress -1st District


    Martin Elborn – Facebook Twitter

    Andy Harris (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Lamont Taylor – Facebook Twitter



    Michael Brown

    Jesse ColvinFacebook Twitter

    Allison Galbraith – Facebook Twitter

    Erik LaneFacebook

    Michael Pullen – Facebook Twitter

    Steve Worton – Facebook Twitter

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party will be added after the primary.


    Delegate – District 37A

    Republican Frank Cooke is unopposed in the primary.



    Charles Cephas – Facebook

    Sheree Sample-Hughes (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)


    Chris Adams (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Mimi GedamuFacebook

    Keith Graffius – Facebook

    Johnny Mautz (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Democrat Dan O’Hare is unopposed in the primary.


    Delegate – District 38C


    Wayne HartmanFacebook

    Joe SchannoFacebook Twitter

    Jim Shaffer

    Ed TinusFacebook

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.