Two new entrants

With the holidays behind us and the 2010 election now in sight, it appears that this will be the season for people to jump into various races.

I noted yesterday that Larry Hogan had closed his exploratory committee and endorsed Bob Ehrlich for the GOP nod for governor. Little did I know that a couple weeks back someone else had dipped his toe into the race for the Republican nomination, but today I received word that Chevy Chase resident Brian Murphy is also seeking the GOP nomination. Murphy is an Easton native but went to the other side of the Bay to pursue his career – sound familiar?

Obviously Brian becomes the longest of long shots when you consider the Ehrlich machine already put into place, but assuming he gets on the ballot Murphy could serve as a barometer of GOP discontent with the dithering of Ehrlich and how he’s played the Maryland Republican Party like a Stradivarius over the last year or so.

Meanwhile, sources up Carroll County way tell me that onetime Delegate and Ehrlich administration official Carmen Amedori is considering jumping into an already crowded field contending for the U.S. Senate seat held by Barbara Mikulski. She would be the first candidate with state legislative experience to enter the field if this is borne out.

Since her time in the General Assembly predated the monoblogue Accountability Project I went back to its predecessor and found out that over the lifetime of the former Maryland Accountability Project Amedori had a rating of 66, which put her among the top 10 conservatives in the House during the time. While the former project may not be completely congruent with my current scorecard, it’s highly likely that Amedori won’t be running in an appeal to moderates (but I could be wrong.) With no one truly distancing himself from the field, Amedori could get some initial backing and place herself squarely in the mix.

Now we just need to get some other local entrants and the September ballot will begin to take shape as the July 6 filing deadline begins to loom.


2 Responses to “Two new entrants”

  1. […] donation history – only noting a donation to McCain in 2008 and the Maryland GOP. Monoblogue pointed out Amedori’s lifetime rating from the Maryland Accountability Project, an independent […]

  2. […] donation history – only noting a donation to McCain in 2008 and the Maryland GOP. Monoblogue pointed out Amedori’s lifetime rating from the Maryland Accountability Project, an independent […]

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    Election Day is November 6 for all of us. With the Maryland primary by us and a shorter widget, I’ll add the Delaware statewide federal offices (Congress and U.S. Senate) to the mix once their July 10 filing deadline is passed. Their primary is September 6.



    Larry Hogan (R – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Shawn Quinn (Libertarian) – Facebook

    Ben Jealous (D) – Facebook Twitter

    Ian Schlakman (Green) Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Senate

    Tony Campbell (R) – Facebook Twitter

    Ben Cardin (D – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Arvin Vohra (Libertarian) – Facebook Twitter

    There are three independent candidates currently listed as seeking nomination via petition: Steve Gladstone, Michael Puskar, and Neal Simon. All have to have the requisite number of signatures in to the state BoE by August 6.


    U.S. Congress -1st District

    Andy Harris (R – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Jenica Martin (Libertarian) – Facebook Twitter

    Jesse Colvin (D) – Facebook Twitter


    State Senate – District 37

    Addie Eckardt (R – incumbent) – Facebook

    Holly Wright (D) – Facebook


    Delegate – District 37A

    Frank Cooke (R) – Facebook

    Sheree Sample-Hughes (D – incumbent) – Twitter


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)

    Chris Adams (R – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Johnny Mautz (R – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Dan O’Hare (D) – Facebook


    State Senate – District 38

    Mary Beth Carozza (R) – Facebook Twitter

    Jim Mathias (D – incumbent) Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38A

    Charles Otto (R – incumbent)

    Kirkland Hall, Sr. (D) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38B

    Carl Anderton, Jr. (R – incumbent) Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38C

    Wayne Hartman (R) – Facebook




    U.S. Senate



    Rob ArlettFacebook Twitter

    Roque de la FuenteFacebook Twitter

    Gene Truono, Jr. –  Facebook


    Libertarian (no primary, advances to General):

    Nadine Frost – Facebook



    Tom Carper (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Kerri Evelyn HarrisFacebook Twitter


    Green (no primary, advances to General):

    Demitri Theodoropoulos



    Congress (at-large):



    Lee MurphyFacebook Twitter

    Scott Walker


    Democrat (no primary, advances to General):

    Lisa Blunt Rochester (D – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.