Shorebird of the Week – May 6, 2010

May 6, 2010 · Posted in Delmarva items, Delmarva Shorebirds, Sports 

Ryan Berry checks out his new baseball home before an exhibition game on April 6. Photo by Kim Corkran.

Ryan Berry warms up before his April 18 start against Hagerstown. It turned out to be a rough beginning as he allowed 4 runs in the opening frame but Ryan settled down to pitch 6 innings in an extra-inning 9-7 loss.

The first thing you notice is the glasses. Not a lot of ballplayers wear them and his look like they’re straight from the 1980’s. But if you’re not comfortable in contact lenses glasses are the best alternative and Ryan Berry seems like he’s found a comfort zone here in Delmarva.

Including last night’s masterful 7-inning performance, in Ryan’s last 26 innings he’s allowed but one run (April 29 at Asheville.) It’s not being reflected in his won-lost record because the Shorebirds have scored just 3 runs in those starts. Overall Berry is 0-1 with a sparkling 2.23 ERA in 36 1/3 innings. More importantly, Berry has found his punchout pitch as he’s fanned 36 while walking just 7 in his 6 starts. Combined with allowing only 33 hits, his WHIP is an impressive 1.10.

Delmarva marks Berry’s professional debut, as the 21-year-old Texan from Rice University didn’t pitch professionally in 2009. He was picked in the 11th round in the draft but the Orioles chose not to assign him to a minor league affiliate, probably because Berry missed part of the college season with a strained rotator cuff. This may affect whether Berry pitches a full season here or is shut down after a particular number of innings later this summer as occasionally happens with prized young prospects.

It’s telling, though, that Berry was tabbed as Delmarva’s #1 starter ahead of other prized prospects like first-round pick Matt Hobgood. Certainly Ryan is holding up his reputation so far and shutting down SAL batters in the process.


One Response to “Shorebird of the Week – May 6, 2010”

  1. […] (courtesy Monoblogue) as Exhibit […]

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    The Maryland primary election is June 26.





    Larry Hogan (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Rushern Baker – Facebook Twitter

    Ralph JaffeFacebook

    Ben JealousFacebook Twitter

    Rich MadalenoFacebook Twitter

    Alec RossFacebook Twitter

    Jim SheaFacebook Twitter

    Krish VignarajahFacebook Twitter

    Candidates for Libertarian and Green parties will be added after primary.





    Anjali Reed PhukanFacebook Twitter



    Peter Franchot (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Attorney General



    Craig WolfFacebook Twitter



    Brian Frosh (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Senate



    Tony CampbellFacebook Twitter

    Chris ChaffeeFacebook Twitter

    Evan CronhardtFacebook Twitter

    Nnabu EzeFacebook

    John Graziani – Facebook

    Christina GrigorianFacebook Twitter

    Albert HowardFacebook Twitter

    Bill Krehnbrink – Twitter

    Gerald Smith – Facebook Twitter

    Blaine Taylor

    Brian VaethTwitter



    Ben Cardin (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Erik JetmirFacebook Twitter

    Chelsea Manning – Twitter

    Marsha Morgan

    Jerome SegalFacebook Twitter

    Rikki VaughnTwitter

    Debbie “Rica” WilsonFacebook

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party and the independent will be added after the primary.


    U.S. Congress -1st District



    Martin Elborn – Facebook Twitter

    Andy Harris (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Lamont Taylor – Facebook Twitter



    Michael Brown

    Jesse ColvinFacebook Twitter

    Allison Galbraith – Facebook Twitter

    Erik LaneFacebook

    Michael Pullen – Facebook Twitter

    Steve Worton – Facebook Twitter

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party will be added after the primary.


    State Senator – District 37



    Addie Eckardt (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Holly WrightFacebook


    State Senator – District 38



    Mary Beth CarozzaFacebook Twitter



    Jim Mathias (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37A



    Frank Cooke



    Charles Cephas – Facebook

    Sheree Sample-Hughes (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)



    Chris Adams (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Mimi GedamuFacebook

    Keith Graffius – Facebook

    Johnny Mautz (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Dan O’Hare – Facebook


    Delegate – District 38A



    Charles Otto (incumbent) – Facebook



    Kirkland Hall, Sr.


    Delegate – District 38B



    Carl Anderton, Jr. (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38C



    Wayne HartmanFacebook

    Joe SchannoFacebook Twitter

    Jim Shaffer

    Ed TinusFacebook

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.