Shorebird of the Week – April 16, 2009

April 16, 2009 · Posted in Delmarva items, Delmarva Shorebirds, Sports 

Joe Mahoney was welcomed back as part of the Meet the Team dinner last week.
Here's Joe at the plate during a game early last season. This year he's wearing number 25.

The Shorebird who seems to be having the best time of it at the plate thus far is this week’s Shorebird of the Week. Fresh off a stellar 6 – RBI performance on Sunday at Lakewood, Joe Mahoney has leapt to the top of the South Atlantic League charts for runs batted in. What’s also surprising on the young season is that Joe leads the team in steals with 3! That’s a number already topping his 2008 total of 2 stolen bases.

Granted, last year was nothing special for the 22-year old first baseman from New York by way of the University of Richmond. He only hit .222 in 95 games with 7 home runs and 61 RBI while whiffing 96 times. All told his .624 OPS (on-base percentage plus slugging percentage) was nothing to write home about.

But Joe came into 2009 noticeably thinner and it’s beginning to show at the plate as he’s legged out two triples on the young campaign. Better still, it took over 20 at-bats before SAL pitchers recorded their first strikeout of Joe, so his batting eye is appreciably better too. Perhaps 2009 will be the breakout year expected of Joe when he was drafted in the 6th round back in 2007.

In the meantime, I’m bursting with anticipation of our home opener! This year I may be able to leave the winter coat at home as the league mercifully set our opener a full 13 days later than last year’s chilly, rainy, and damp 14-inning debacle. If it wasn’t the coldest I’ve ever been at a ballgame it was pretty darn close.

So hopefully you’re reading this AFTER you’ve enjoyed a thrilling home opener won by our Shorebirds. Or it could be a blowout loss; regardless baseball is back in town!


Comments are closed.

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    The Maryland primary election is June 26.





    Larry Hogan (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Rushern Baker – Facebook Twitter

    Ralph JaffeFacebook

    Ben JealousFacebook Twitter

    Rich MadalenoFacebook Twitter

    Alec RossFacebook Twitter

    Jim SheaFacebook Twitter

    Krish VignarajahFacebook Twitter

    Candidates for Libertarian and Green parties will be added after primary.





    Anjali Reed PhukanFacebook Twitter



    Peter Franchot (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Attorney General



    Craig WolfFacebook Twitter



    Brian Frosh (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Senate



    Tony CampbellFacebook Twitter

    Chris ChaffeeFacebook Twitter

    Evan CronhardtFacebook Twitter

    Nnabu EzeFacebook

    John Graziani – Facebook

    Christina GrigorianFacebook Twitter

    Albert HowardFacebook Twitter

    Bill Krehnbrink – Twitter

    Gerald Smith – Facebook Twitter

    Blaine Taylor

    Brian VaethTwitter



    Ben Cardin (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Erik JetmirFacebook Twitter

    Chelsea Manning – Twitter

    Marsha Morgan

    Jerome SegalFacebook Twitter

    Rikki VaughnTwitter

    Debbie “Rica” WilsonFacebook

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party and the independent will be added after the primary.


    U.S. Congress -1st District



    Martin Elborn – Facebook Twitter

    Andy Harris (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Lamont Taylor – Facebook Twitter



    Michael Brown

    Jesse ColvinFacebook Twitter

    Allison Galbraith – Facebook Twitter

    Erik LaneFacebook

    Michael Pullen – Facebook Twitter

    Steve Worton – Facebook Twitter

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party will be added after the primary.


    State Senator – District 37



    Addie Eckardt (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Holly WrightFacebook


    State Senator – District 38



    Mary Beth CarozzaFacebook Twitter



    Jim Mathias (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37A



    Frank Cooke



    Charles Cephas – Facebook

    Sheree Sample-Hughes (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)



    Chris Adams (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Mimi GedamuFacebook

    Keith Graffius – Facebook

    Johnny Mautz (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Dan O’Hare – Facebook


    Delegate – District 38A



    Charles Otto (incumbent) – Facebook



    Kirkland Hall, Sr.


    Delegate – District 38B



    Carl Anderton, Jr. (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38C



    Wayne HartmanFacebook

    Joe SchannoFacebook Twitter

    Jim Shaffer

    Ed TinusFacebook

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.