Shorebird of the Week – April 3, 2008

April 3, 2008 · Posted in Delmarva items, Delmarva Shorebirds, Sports 

Pedro Florimon waits on the pitch in a game last August. This 2007 holdover is my first Shorebird of the Week for 2008.

When a guy has his own personal fan club, somewhere along the line you have to name him Shorebird of the Week – so why not right off the top to start the year with a bang! My first SotW for 2008 is infielder Pedro Florimon, Jr.

The Dominican native is beginning his fifth year in baseball, having started with the Orioles’ entry in the Dominican Summer League in 2004-2005 and working his way up the ladder once he came here to the United States. While there have been several of these seasons where Pedro has struggled at the plate (in 2007 Pedro hit just .197 here in 111 games and 371 at-bats, along with .213 and .200 marks in his two Dominican seasons over 330 at-bats) obviously the Orioles hope to see the 21 year old return to 2006 form, where he surprised observers by slapping the ball around at a .293 clip (66 for 225 between Bluefield and Aberdeen.) Last year Pedro did establish career highs in at-bats, home runs (4) and RBI (34) and was fourth on the squad with 16 stolen bases in his first full campaign.

This year will obviously be a key one for Pedro as he’s now relatively close in age to the league’s peer group. No longer will he have the excuse of being a little younger than the competition and maybe in a little over his head. But if Pedro can pick up the average to a more respectable level, the departure of fixture Miguel Tejada at the big-league level means the Orioles may be looking for another long-term fix at short and Florimon could get some notice.


Comments are closed.

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    The Maryland primary election is June 26.





    Larry Hogan (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Rushern Baker – Facebook Twitter

    Ralph JaffeFacebook

    Ben JealousFacebook Twitter

    Rich MadalenoFacebook Twitter

    Alec RossFacebook Twitter

    Jim SheaFacebook Twitter

    Krish VignarajahFacebook Twitter

    Candidates for Libertarian and Green parties will be added after primary.





    Anjali Reed PhukanFacebook Twitter



    Peter Franchot (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Attorney General



    Craig WolfFacebook Twitter



    Brian Frosh (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Senate



    Tony CampbellFacebook Twitter

    Chris ChaffeeFacebook Twitter

    Evan CronhardtFacebook Twitter

    Nnabu EzeFacebook

    John Graziani – Facebook

    Christina GrigorianFacebook Twitter

    Albert HowardFacebook Twitter

    Bill Krehnbrink – Twitter

    Gerald Smith – Facebook Twitter

    Blaine Taylor

    Brian VaethTwitter



    Ben Cardin (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Erik JetmirFacebook Twitter

    Chelsea Manning – Twitter

    Marsha Morgan

    Jerome SegalFacebook Twitter

    Rikki VaughnTwitter

    Debbie “Rica” WilsonFacebook

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party and the independent will be added after the primary.


    U.S. Congress -1st District



    Martin Elborn – Facebook Twitter

    Andy Harris (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Lamont Taylor – Facebook Twitter



    Michael Brown

    Jesse ColvinFacebook Twitter

    Allison Galbraith – Facebook Twitter

    Erik LaneFacebook

    Michael Pullen – Facebook Twitter

    Steve Worton – Facebook Twitter

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party will be added after the primary.


    State Senator – District 37



    Addie Eckardt (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Holly WrightFacebook


    State Senator – District 38



    Mary Beth CarozzaFacebook Twitter



    Jim Mathias (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37A



    Frank Cooke



    Charles Cephas – Facebook

    Sheree Sample-Hughes (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)



    Chris Adams (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Mimi GedamuFacebook

    Keith Graffius – Facebook

    Johnny Mautz (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Dan O’Hare – Facebook


    Delegate – District 38A



    Charles Otto (incumbent) – Facebook



    Kirkland Hall, Sr.


    Delegate – District 38B



    Carl Anderton, Jr. (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38C



    Wayne HartmanFacebook

    Joe SchannoFacebook Twitter

    Jim Shaffer

    Ed TinusFacebook

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.