Shorebird of the week 8-9-2007

August 9, 2007 · Posted in Delmarva items, Delmarva Shorebirds, Sports 

Zach Clark makes his home debut in this picture, July 17 against Hickory.

When he’s on, watching this week’s SotW is like watching the infielders taking their fielding practice between innings as opposing batters beat Zach Clark’s offerings into ground ball outs. Last Thursday I went to a game he started and that was exactly how it went as Zach threw a complete game (7 inning) 4-1 victory over Kannapolis. It impressed me enough to make him Shorebird of the Week a week later.

And after looking into Zach’s numbers, that start wasn’t an anomaly – all four of his Delmarva starts have been what’s considered a “quality” start (3 or fewer earned runs in 6 or more innings.) A guy with a WHIP of 0.87 on your staff will certainly be one who can be leaned on to keep you in games. He’s given up 21 hits and just 5 walks in 30 innings with a 2-1 record for Delmarva, and carries a stellar 1.50 ERA.

Oddly enough, for the second week in a row I picked a guy who the Orioles didn’t pick with a draft choice. The Orioles signed him up last year and the native of Wilmington, Delaware has bounced about the Orioles system already – Bluefield and Aberdeen last season; Frederick, Aberdeen, and Delmarva in 2007. He did struggle to open the season in Frederick, allowing 14 hits and 11 runs in just 7 1/3 innings, so he was sent down to a more appropriate level to continue his career. Having just turned 24, he’s not all that far away from getting another shot with Frederick if he can continue to do what he’s done here.

The only knock that scouts could have on Clark is that he’s not a great strikeout pitcher, so he may need to develop a better out pitch to succeed at a higher level. But a guy who’s relatively economical with the pitch count and can eat innings will have a place in most organizations for awhile.


Comments are closed.

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    The Maryland primary election is June 26.





    Larry Hogan (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Rushern Baker – Facebook Twitter

    Ralph JaffeFacebook

    Ben JealousFacebook Twitter

    Rich MadalenoFacebook Twitter

    Alec RossFacebook Twitter

    Jim SheaFacebook Twitter

    Krish VignarajahFacebook Twitter

    Candidates for Libertarian and Green parties will be added after primary.





    Anjali Reed PhukanFacebook Twitter



    Peter Franchot (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Attorney General



    Craig WolfFacebook Twitter



    Brian Frosh (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Senate



    Tony CampbellFacebook Twitter

    Chris ChaffeeFacebook Twitter

    Evan CronhardtFacebook Twitter

    Nnabu EzeFacebook

    John Graziani – Facebook

    Christina GrigorianFacebook Twitter

    Albert HowardFacebook Twitter

    Bill Krehnbrink – Twitter

    Gerald Smith – Facebook Twitter

    Blaine Taylor

    Brian VaethTwitter



    Ben Cardin (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Erik JetmirFacebook Twitter

    Chelsea Manning – Twitter

    Marsha Morgan

    Jerome SegalFacebook Twitter

    Rikki VaughnTwitter

    Debbie “Rica” WilsonFacebook

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party and the independent will be added after the primary.


    U.S. Congress -1st District



    Martin Elborn – Facebook Twitter

    Andy Harris (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Lamont Taylor – Facebook Twitter



    Michael Brown

    Jesse ColvinFacebook Twitter

    Allison Galbraith – Facebook Twitter

    Erik LaneFacebook

    Michael Pullen – Facebook Twitter

    Steve Worton – Facebook Twitter

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party will be added after the primary.


    State Senator – District 37



    Addie Eckardt (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Holly WrightFacebook


    State Senator – District 38



    Mary Beth CarozzaFacebook Twitter



    Jim Mathias (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37A



    Frank Cooke



    Charles Cephas – Facebook

    Sheree Sample-Hughes (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)



    Chris Adams (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Mimi GedamuFacebook

    Keith Graffius – Facebook

    Johnny Mautz (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Dan O’Hare – Facebook


    Delegate – District 38A



    Charles Otto (incumbent) – Facebook



    Kirkland Hall, Sr.


    Delegate – District 38B



    Carl Anderton, Jr. (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38C



    Wayne HartmanFacebook

    Joe SchannoFacebook Twitter

    Jim Shaffer

    Ed TinusFacebook

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.