Shorebird of the week 4-5-2007

April 5, 2007 · Posted in Delmarva items, Delmarva Shorebirds, Sports 

In this photo from May of 2006, Brandon Snyder models some items he'll not be wearing much this season - catcher's equipment.

Do the names Wade Townsend, Beau Hale, Rick Elder, Mike Paradis, and Jayson Werth ring a bell? If you really follow the Orioles, they should. These five players were all among the first Oriole picks in the amateur draft over the last ten years. More familiar names like Chris Smith, Adam Loewen, and 2003 first rounder Nick Markakis also join that list.

This year’s edition of the Shorebirds was slated to have two number one picks on the infield – alas, 2006 top pick Billy Rowell is injured and not on the Shorebirds’ opening roster. But my initial pick for Shorebird of the Week Brandon Snyder is healthy enough to play and is slated to man first base this season.

After a great rookie campaign in 2005, Brandon hit a serious speed bump in 2006. He only batted .213 across two levels (Delmarva and Aberdeen) and a shoulder injury compacted his season to just 72 games played. Because of this injury, first base is now Brandon’s home.

Because of the injury and learning a new position, the 2007 campaign will go a long way to determining whether Snyder will be a member of the first group of five first-round busts I opened this post with, or a solid big leaguer like Nick Markakis is becoming.


2 Responses to “Shorebird of the week 4-5-2007”

  1. Brian Griffiths on April 5th, 2007 8:42 pm

    If Snyder is as good a hitter as they say he is, then he belongs at 1st regardless of the injury.

    I’d also like to mention:
    – Richard Stahl
    – Keith Reed
    – Tripper Johnson
    – Mamon Tucker
    – Darnell McDonald
    – Ntema Ndungidi
    – Alvie Shepherd

    And that’s all in the 1st round the last 12 years…

  2. Michael on April 5th, 2007 9:32 pm

    Thus far Snyder’s hitting well, 3 for 4 in his debut.

    But the rest of ‘Birds seem to have their hitting problems from last year, losing a tough 4-2 decision.

    As for my list I just placed the top picks in my little posting, not the sandwich picks.

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    Election Day is November 6 for all of us. However, Delaware still has to get through its primary on September 6.



    Larry Hogan (R – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Shawn Quinn (Libertarian) – Facebook

    Ben Jealous (D) – Facebook Twitter

    Ian Schlakman (Green) Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Senate

    Tony Campbell (R) – Facebook Twitter

    Arvin Vohra (Libertarian) – Facebook Twitter

    Neal Simon (Unaffiliated) – Facebook Twitter

    Ben Cardin (D – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Congress -1st District

    Andy Harris (R – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Jenica Martin (Libertarian) – Facebook Twitter

    Jesse Colvin (D) – Facebook Twitter


    State Senate – District 37

    Addie Eckardt (R – incumbent) – Facebook

    Holly Wright (D) – Facebook


    Delegate – District 37A

    Frank Cooke (R) – Facebook

    Sheree Sample-Hughes (D – incumbent) – Twitter


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)

    Chris Adams (R – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Johnny Mautz (R – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Dan O’Hare (D) – Facebook


    State Senate – District 38

    Mary Beth Carozza (R) – Facebook Twitter

    Jim Mathias (D – incumbent) Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38A

    Charles Otto (R – incumbent)

    Kirkland Hall, Sr. (D) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38B

    Carl Anderton, Jr. (R – incumbent) Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38C

    Wayne Hartman (R) – Facebook




    U.S. Senate



    Rob ArlettFacebook Twitter

    Roque de la FuenteFacebook Twitter

    Gene Truono, Jr. –  Facebook


    Libertarian (no primary, advances to General):

    Nadine Frost – Facebook



    Tom Carper (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Kerri Evelyn HarrisFacebook Twitter


    Green (no primary, advances to General):

    Demitri Theodoropoulos



    Congress (at-large):



    Lee MurphyFacebook Twitter

    Scott Walker


    Democrat (no primary, advances to General):

    Lisa Blunt Rochester (D – incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.