Shorebird of the Week – April 24, 2008

April 24, 2008 · Posted in Delmarva items, Delmarva Shorebirds, Sports 

A rare shot of Matt Angle sitting. Usually he's on the basepaths.
Matt Angle plans his next at-bat in a recent Shorebirds contest.

I’m not one to give folks from Ohio State too much credit on a normal basis, but this week I make an exception for Shorebirds outfielder and speedster Matt Angle. Yes, he is a Buckeye (from Whitehall, Ohio) and this is his first shot at full-season baseball, having been drafted in the 7th round by the Orioles in the 2007 draft.

So far Matt has done reasonably well, breaking a hitless three-game slump yesterday morning by cracking his first professional home run against Lake County. After a slow 5-for-24 start, he’s picked up the average to a more respectable .242 (15-for-62) and is doing the job of a good leadoff hitter by leading the team with 10 walks and 6 stolen bases.

Last season Matt was a mid-season All-Star in the New York-Penn League and deservedly so, hitting .301 with 34 stolen bases, 47 walks, and scoring 60 runs in 66 games for the IronBirds. It was obvious he’d mastered the lower level so there’s no shock involved seeing Matt beginning the season here in Delmarva. However, I would be shocked to see him still here if he puts up similar numbers about midway through our season. With his speed, the only questions the 22 year old has to answer are whether his bat and eye of the strike zone will allow him to steal first base on a regular basis as he progresses through the Orioles system.


One Response to “Shorebird of the Week – April 24, 2008”

  1. Erin Foy on September 6th, 2008 6:03 pm

    Wow! let me tell you, this guy right here is a great baseaball player. He is one of the few from the Shorebirds that will make it to the big leauges. I honestly think he will do what Matt Wieters did. I think Matt Angle with go straight to Bowie! I love this guy! i have 2 of his shorebirds jerseys!

  • I haven't. Have you?
  • 2018 Election

    The Maryland primary election is June 26.





    Larry Hogan (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Rushern Baker – Facebook Twitter

    Ralph JaffeFacebook

    Ben JealousFacebook Twitter

    Rich MadalenoFacebook Twitter

    Alec RossFacebook Twitter

    Jim SheaFacebook Twitter

    Krish VignarajahFacebook Twitter

    Candidates for Libertarian and Green parties will be added after primary.





    Anjali Reed PhukanFacebook Twitter



    Peter Franchot (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Attorney General



    Craig WolfFacebook Twitter



    Brian Frosh (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    U.S. Senate



    Tony CampbellFacebook Twitter

    Chris ChaffeeFacebook Twitter

    Evan CronhardtFacebook Twitter

    Nnabu EzeFacebook

    John Graziani – Facebook

    Christina GrigorianFacebook Twitter

    Albert HowardFacebook Twitter

    Bill Krehnbrink – Twitter

    Gerald Smith – Facebook Twitter

    Blaine Taylor

    Brian VaethTwitter



    Ben Cardin (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Erik JetmirFacebook Twitter

    Chelsea Manning – Twitter

    Marsha Morgan

    Jerome SegalFacebook Twitter

    Rikki VaughnTwitter

    Debbie “Rica” WilsonFacebook

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party and the independent will be added after the primary.


    U.S. Congress -1st District



    Martin Elborn – Facebook Twitter

    Andy Harris (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Lamont Taylor – Facebook Twitter



    Michael Brown

    Jesse ColvinFacebook Twitter

    Allison Galbraith – Facebook Twitter

    Erik LaneFacebook

    Michael Pullen – Facebook Twitter

    Steve Worton – Facebook Twitter

    Candidate for the Libertarian Party will be added after the primary.


    State Senator – District 37



    Addie Eckardt (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Holly WrightFacebook


    State Senator – District 38



    Mary Beth CarozzaFacebook Twitter



    Jim Mathias (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37A



    Frank Cooke



    Charles Cephas – Facebook

    Sheree Sample-Hughes (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 37B (elect 2)



    Chris Adams (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter

    Mimi GedamuFacebook

    Keith Graffius – Facebook

    Johnny Mautz (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter



    Dan O’Hare – Facebook


    Delegate – District 38A



    Charles Otto (incumbent) – Facebook



    Kirkland Hall, Sr.


    Delegate – District 38B



    Carl Anderton, Jr. (incumbent) – Facebook Twitter


    Delegate – District 38C



    Wayne HartmanFacebook

    Joe SchannoFacebook Twitter

    Jim Shaffer

    Ed TinusFacebook

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Link to Maryland Democratic Party

    In the interest of being fair and balanced, I provide this service to readers. But before you click on the picture below, just remember their message:

  • Part of the Politics in Stereo network.